ZZT v3.2 (Registered)

Author
Company
Released
Size
175.9 KB
Rating
4.58 / 5.00
(12 Reviews)
Board Count
158 / 162
Sort:
Submitted By
Date
3 months, 1 week ago (Nov 12, 2023)
Tags
Bug Report
Feedback

In City of ZZT, you can talk to the pawn shop broker and spend 20 gems to ask for advice. If you close the menu without picking an option, he is supposed to give you back your 20 gems after three ticks. Instead, he gives back 30, which is 10 gems more than that. Thus, once you have 20 gems, if you repeatedly ask him for advice, cancel out, and wait, you can quickly build up enough money for both of the bribes required to complete the game without having to find enough gems to make them.

Submitted By
Date
4 months, 2 weeks ago (Oct 05, 2023)
Tags
Bug Report
Feedback

In Dungeons of ZZT, on the infamous "Hit The Target" board, if the player successfully finishes the puzzle with the penalty gate closed and exits to the south before taking damage from a lingering star and respawning, your respawn point changes to the south edge and you can never open the penalty gate again. This prevents you from returning to the main dungeon hub and completing the game.

(Report entered by Dr. Dos, original report by Zinfandel)

Submitted By
Date
1 year, 1 month ago (Jan 17, 2023)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Happy 32th birthday or anniversary or whatever you wanna call it (yes i know im two days late but still)

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Date
1 year, 2 months ago (Dec 05, 2022)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Go get the five purple keys! They're in all sorts of secret locations you gotta go down paths to get to. My favorite board is the House of Blues.

I think that I shall never see, a poem as lovely as the game of ZZT.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
zzo38
Date
20 years, 3 months ago (Oct 24, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

I think that the games that cums with ZZT is good games. This is probably sum uv the best ZZT games that ther is. It is beter without grafics becuse it makes file-size smaller. Without LZEXE the file-size wood be way to big to fit on 1 disk. I am giving this a 6/5 points becuse is beter.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Pal Productions
Date
20 years, 3 months ago (Oct 23, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

This is the daddy of the ZZT and id worth the download and it has the 6 games with it. Very good to see and better to use.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Zandor 12
Date
20 years, 7 months ago (Jul 19, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Bah. The graphics are crude and primitive, the sound is a horrid joke, the worlds included with it are out of date, there's no replay value, the editor's too limited. and I have several personal issues with the creator of the game. The four games- Town, City, Cave, and Dungeon of ZZT- are akin to the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, killing all who view them without mercy. They have delivered a plague unto our land, raped our children and stolen our pie. I feel that this rating is fully justified.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Ryan Ferneau
Date
20 years, 8 months ago (Jun 06, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

I thought this game was really cool when it first came out. That was when I only played TOWN.ZZT, DEMO.ZZT, and TOUR.ZZT, and I couldn't even edit Town or Tour. I totally wanted to get Caves, Dungeons, and City, but I could never convince my parents to pay for them, y'know? I also thought it would be cool if I could send in a game board for Best of ZZT, but that never happened.

Anyway, I found that the coolest part of ZZT was that the level editor could create games just like the ones that came with ZZT. I was used to games like Think Quick that put limitations on how much you could make your games like the pre-packaged ones, so as I explored ZZT, it turned out to be a real treat to duplicate all of the tricks in Town and more. Probably the pinnacle of ZZT's flexibility is its "object-oriented" language for programming your own game characters. There are dozens upon dozens of ways for these objects to interact with the player and spice up the game.

When the Internet got to be a really big thing, making ZZT games also grew in popularity. Now you can share your work with friends all over the world and try to get some recognition. There are plenty of places to look for free games to download. Although Tim Sweeney may have missed a few ways to improve ZZT, its sheer replayability earns it a 5.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Funk
Date
20 years, 8 months ago (Jun 05, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Just giving this a 0 to get it off the top 10 list. Nobody delete this review 'till Crank's hard-coded it out of the reviews script plz thx k bye.

Rating
0.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Ruffian
Date
20 years, 8 months ago (May 29, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Well as a member of Phobos Inc and as Develin and ruffian said the same thing il jus say if some one gives this game lower then 5 il shoot yo ass! well il add some more stuff think about it ZZT is very good for being earlier then commander keen

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
weaae
Date
20 years, 8 months ago (May 27, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

We couldn't make any games without this, unless we used the earlier versions, which aren't as good due to lag. Anyone who gives this lower than a 4.5 should be taken out to the back and shot.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Demon master
Date
20 years, 8 months ago (May 26, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

ah as a member of phobos inc and dev's friend (cause he is teh pres) il just say read what he says and what i added here ZZT created games like doom half life etc you might not know it but... zzt influence megazeux megazeux influenced something else and... before you know it half life! so um yaaaaaaaayyyyy! ZZT forever!

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
cefka
Date
20 years, 9 months ago (May 12, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

I don't think this game really needs a review. It will probably never get less than 5/5. Without this program, none of the games on this website would be here. Hail to Tim Sweeney, for giving us what truly is the best game ever made.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
chronox
Date
20 years, 9 months ago (May 08, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

It's what we use to make ZZT games, we can't not hate it. Sure, we can't place things in the bottom row, but hey, it's those little imperfections that make you like it more, to remind you that it was made by a (forgetful, clumsy, at times bewildering) person.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00

Give Feedback

Markdown syntax is supported for formatting.
Additionally, you may place text behind a spoiler tag by wrapping it in two pipe characters (ex: ||this is hidden||).

Optionally provide a numeric score from 0.0 to 5.0

If any box is checked, feedback must be tagged with at least one checked tag

Feedback can only be provided on a file once every 24 hours for guests. Please sign in to a Museum of ZZT account if you wish to provide additional feedback.