ZZT v3.2 (Registered)

Author
Company
Released
Size
175.9 KB
Rating
4.58 / 5.00
(12 Reviews)
Board Count
158 / 162
Sort:
1895
Reviewer
Review Date
2 weeks, 4 days ago (Jan 17, 2023)
Review

Happy 32th birthday or anniversary or whatever you wanna call it (yes i know im two days late but still)

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
1888
Reviewer
Review Date
2 months ago (Dec 05, 2022)
Review

Go get the five purple keys! They're in all sorts of secret locations you gotta go down paths to get to. My favorite board is the House of Blues.

I think that I shall never see, a poem as lovely as the game of ZZT.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
699
Reviewer
zzo38
Review Date
19 years, 3 months ago (Oct 24, 2003)
Review

I think that the games that cums with ZZT is good games. This is probably sum uv the best ZZT games that ther is. It is beter without grafics becuse it makes file-size smaller. Without LZEXE the file-size wood be way to big to fit on 1 disk. I am giving this a 6/5 points becuse is beter.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
697
Reviewer
Pal Productions
Review Date
19 years, 3 months ago (Oct 23, 2003)
Review

This is the daddy of the ZZT and id worth the download and it has the 6 games with it. Very good to see and better to use.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
588
Reviewer
Zandor 12
Review Date
19 years, 6 months ago (Jul 19, 2003)
Review

Bah. The graphics are crude and primitive, the sound is a horrid joke, the worlds included with it are out of date, there's no replay value, the editor's too limited. and I have several personal issues with the creator of the game. The four games- Town, City, Cave, and Dungeon of ZZT- are akin to the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, killing all who view them without mercy. They have delivered a plague unto our land, raped our children and stolen our pie. I feel that this rating is fully justified.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
533
Reviewer
Ryan Ferneau
Review Date
19 years, 8 months ago (Jun 06, 2003)
Review

I thought this game was really cool when it first came out. That was when I only played TOWN.ZZT, DEMO.ZZT, and TOUR.ZZT, and I couldn't even edit Town or Tour. I totally wanted to get Caves, Dungeons, and City, but I could never convince my parents to pay for them, y'know? I also thought it would be cool if I could send in a game board for Best of ZZT, but that never happened.

Anyway, I found that the coolest part of ZZT was that the level editor could create games just like the ones that came with ZZT. I was used to games like Think Quick that put limitations on how much you could make your games like the pre-packaged ones, so as I explored ZZT, it turned out to be a real treat to duplicate all of the tricks in Town and more. Probably the pinnacle of ZZT's flexibility is its "object-oriented" language for programming your own game characters. There are dozens upon dozens of ways for these objects to interact with the player and spice up the game.

When the Internet got to be a really big thing, making ZZT games also grew in popularity. Now you can share your work with friends all over the world and try to get some recognition. There are plenty of places to look for free games to download. Although Tim Sweeney may have missed a few ways to improve ZZT, its sheer replayability earns it a 5.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
532
Reviewer
Funk
Review Date
19 years, 8 months ago (Jun 05, 2003)
Review

Just giving this a 0 to get it off the top 10 list. Nobody delete this review 'till Crank's hard-coded it out of the reviews script plz thx k bye.

Rating
0.00 / 5.00
518
Reviewer
Ruffian
Review Date
19 years, 8 months ago (May 29, 2003)
Review

Well as a member of Phobos Inc and as Develin and ruffian said the same thing il jus say if some one gives this game lower then 5 il shoot yo ass! well il add some more stuff think about it ZZT is very good for being earlier then commander keen

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
513
Reviewer
weaae
Review Date
19 years, 8 months ago (May 27, 2003)
Review

We couldn't make any games without this, unless we used the earlier versions, which aren't as good due to lag. Anyone who gives this lower than a 4.5 should be taken out to the back and shot.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
512
Reviewer
Demon master
Review Date
19 years, 8 months ago (May 26, 2003)
Review

ah as a member of phobos inc and dev's friend (cause he is teh pres) il just say read what he says and what i added here ZZT created games like doom half life etc you might not know it but... zzt influence megazeux megazeux influenced something else and... before you know it half life! so um yaaaaaaaayyyyy! ZZT forever!

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
502
Reviewer
cefka
Review Date
19 years, 8 months ago (May 12, 2003)
Review

I don't think this game really needs a review. It will probably never get less than 5/5. Without this program, none of the games on this website would be here. Hail to Tim Sweeney, for giving us what truly is the best game ever made.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
499
Reviewer
chronox
Review Date
19 years, 9 months ago (May 08, 2003)
Review

It's what we use to make ZZT games, we can't not hate it. Sure, we can't place things in the bottom row, but hey, it's those little imperfections that make you like it more, to remind you that it was made by a (forgetful, clumsy, at times bewildering) person.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00

New Review

Markdown syntax is supported for formatting.

Optionally provide a numeric score from 0.0 to 5.0


By:
Reviewed: Feb 5, 2023


Rating: out of 5.0 This user has opted out of providing a numeric rating