🗝️Winter

Author
myth
Released
July 5, 1999
Genre
Puzzle
Company
Size
37.5 KB
Boards
35 / 49
Rating
4.50 / 5.00
Sort:

Very Different

By: wayward
Reviewed: 12 years ago (June 24, 2010)

What makes Winter stand out is the risks Myth took all the way back in 1999. While many games were full of text to hold your hand and make up for ZZT visual presentation limitations, he went in a different direction entirely. No text hardly. No narrative. All that left was a game that must be held up by its puzzles, and he pulled it off beautifully.

Of course, the excellent art style helps bring the whole package together, but the puzzles are varied, sometimes brutal, but overall rewarding.


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by wayward

Great Confusion

By: DareU2Move
Reviewed: 17 years, 10 months ago (Aug. 25, 2004)

This was a great game, great puzzle, wonderful music... It was really dificult to beat. However, I did not understand if there was a story line. However, even though there was a great confusion, that still makes the game great.


Rating: 4.5 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by DareU2Move

Wow, a puzzel game that does not SUCK

By: mr.bob
Reviewed: 18 years, 5 months ago (Jan. 26, 2004)

This is the first puzzel game that did not suck. The little feeling is a rare thing with ZZT games. OH I FIRST PLAYED THIS AT 4:00 a.m. It was very cool, I kept looking over my back....but nothing was there......Anyway-

Graphics- Shizzy! Very nice. I loved them, however I found SOME things in the game kinda.....Chilly, very cool thing to do in a ZZT game.

Sound- I liked the title music, and the rest was very rare if you found any at all, besides bleeps and beebs.

Gameplay- The puzzels were not TO hard. But still I have not finished the entire game, Im stuck at the desert Mesa.

Overall- A nice little game worth a play however PURE puzzels are kinda annoying. -.1

ADD THEM UP YO.


Rating: 4.5 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by mr.bob

I....I.....Love this game!

By: Spiff
Reviewed: 18 years, 6 months ago (Dec. 22, 2003)

This is one of the best ZZT games with no story. (well it has a story really) But what I mean it has no text and all you do is go around solving puzzels. However, you may think this is boring, it really gave me a .....chilly feeling! That feeling was all I needed to start the game! Their are no flaws in this game.....It is.....dare I say....PERFECT.


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Spiff

Booooring.

By: Metronome
Reviewed: 19 years, 3 months ago (March 17, 2003)

Oh, wow, a few musical notes, and next-to-no storyline! Splendid! The game, at certain points, had a special, spooky feeling, but that's all I can say for this game. I think I'm alone on this though.


Rating: 2.5 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Metronome

Pure genious in a glass

By: TTTPPP
Reviewed: 19 years, 5 months ago (Jan. 26, 2003)

Winter is an extremely well made game. The boards line up seemlessly and the graphics give a wonderful sense of 'uniformity' to the game. Plot: There is a fairly limited plot in the game, but it's a puzzle game and doesn't really need one. You are in a classroom and start to daydream... (see Flammable Monkey's review). But basically the plot is of the sort - you are somewhere, but you want to be somewhere else. Graphics: The graphics are great, nice use of blues and whites to give the game a cold feel to it. There are some very detailed boards and some which are just one big object. Posibly the worst graphics was the top of the tree, which wasn't really bad at all. Puzzles: All of the puzzles were entertaining. Without exception. There was a fairly large range of puzzles as well, some revolving around key and door problems, some around memory, some mazes and some where the biggest puzzle is working out what the puzzle is. There are a few which you can muck up badly enough that you can't go on, so it's worth saving before attempting each puzzle. Sound: This game uses little bleeps and twiddles to speak to you. There is no text (words making a sentence type text) except in the info screen. Instead you rely on things making happy arpedgios for good things, rising blips for something being turned on, etc. This makes the game much more fluent than a game with large blue text boxes whenever you enter a room, or press a button, or whatever. Overall: This is probably the best puzzle game I have played from the archives, and posibly the best ZZT game of any sort I have played.


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by TTTPPP

Great job Adam

By: Flammable Monkey
Reviewed: 19 years, 7 months ago (Nov. 5, 2002)

Winter is definitely one of the best games I've ever played. The game is about you, sitting in class letting your mind wander. You find yourself in front of a huge a palace, and as usual, you walk inside. Throughout the game you run around solving puzzles, much like Nightmare. One interesting thing about the game, is that there is no talking. It gives an eerie type of feel to it. Excellent graphics, sound, and programming give this a well-earned five. Good job Adam


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Flammable Monkey

New Review

Markdown syntax is supported for formatting.

Optionally provide a numeric score from 0.0 to 5.0


By:
Reviewed: June 28, 2022


Rating: out of 5.0 This user has opted out of providing a numeric rating