Sort:
1576
Reviewer
Dark-Star88
Review Date
5 years, 7 months ago (Jun 27, 2017)
Review

Short enough to go through in one sitting, long enough to cover every common tooth-grinding frustration in so many bad ZZT games, complete with a very down-to-earth way of showing what NOT to do when creating one's own ZZT world. And it also has the distinction of being the first ever ZZT "how to" guide that was actually MADE in ZZT, making it all the more understandable to novices. The good influence Barjesse has had on ZZT game creation over the years can only be guessed at. We probably owe more than a few bad games that became good and a few good games that became great to his helpful little guide. If you are even thinking of making a ZZT game with more boards than you have fingers, this guide is indispensable if you give even half a hoot about quality. Play before you program. The rest of us will thank you.<br /> <br /> As icing on the cake, Barjesse's lemony narration is actually so good that even if you don't intend to make a serious ZZT game you might well want to go through the whole thing just for the chuckles.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
1449
Reviewer
Archangel
Review Date
14 years, 8 months ago (May 16, 2008)
Review

Good job, I'll give you a 5 for hitting all those annoying syndromes, even though you missed unsolvable puzzles.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
1354
Reviewer
thematrixeatsyou
Review Date
16 years, 5 months ago (Aug 24, 2006)
Review

This one cracks me up... i can sorta relate to these. If you're gonna make a game, then you MUST download this. Ping Pong Path Syndrome is bloody annoying...

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
877
Reviewer
Nicholas
Review Date
19 years ago (Jan 30, 2004)
Review

The first time I got this, it was very helpful. As a matter of fact, most of the bad ZZT games that I have played have one or more of the things outlined. Also, it doesn't just tell you about it, It is an interactive one.

PS: If you want to make a good ZZT game, get this guide. IT DOES HELP!!!!!

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
743

Reviewer
Max Gene
Review Date
19 years, 2 months ago (Nov 09, 2003)
Review

My friend used to really suck at making games.

He still does.

But we're both better because of this. This rocks!

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
740

Reviewer
dave2
Review Date
19 years, 2 months ago (Nov 09, 2003)
Review

It's a good help guide for ZZT (I personally liked WCB's "Crimes" better) it's full of information that's already pretty much globally known (lol don't use yellow borders k?) and a lot of the graphics are hard to look at. It gets 3.5 for still being the first in-ZZT ZZT help guide.

Rating
3.50 / 5.00
720
Reviewer
Caspar
Review Date
19 years, 3 months ago (Nov 03, 2003)
Review

This program can tell you what can go wrong in a zzt game.

So if you're a beginner, then ZZT Syndromes is just what the doctor ordered.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
441
Reviewer
Daft2
Review Date
19 years, 10 months ago (Mar 23, 2003)
Review

Barjesse, This is the BEST help walkthrough I have Ever seen from the guru of gamemaking, totally recomend it.

Please, If you really stink at making games, then get this, NOW!!!

Rating
5.00 / 5.00

New Review

Markdown syntax is supported for formatting.

Optionally provide a numeric score from 0.0 to 5.0


By:
Reviewed: Feb 6, 2023


Rating: out of 5.0 This user has opted out of providing a numeric rating