School ZZT

Author
Company
Released
Genre
Size
2.8 KB
Rating
0.55 / 5.00
(10 Reviews)
Board Count
11 / 11
Sort:
Submitted By
Max Gene
Date
19 years, 5 months ago (Feb 23, 2005)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Well, it's actually worse than Marc "Cloud" Rance's and I's first game, Crazy Quad's Arcade. And that's pretty bad. F--!!

Rating
0.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
OSWFootball47
Date
19 years, 5 months ago (Jan 26, 2005)
Tags
Review
Feedback

I couldn't agree more with wayward. This game completely deserves a score so horrible that a number that small couldn't even be imaged. Bottom line, the game is worse than crap. In fact, I'd rather do anything else in the world than play this crappy game again. Giving a zero for this game is one of the nicest things I would ever do. Don't pay attention to the zero there.

My rating: -10

Rating
0.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Anonymous
Date
19 years, 5 months ago (Jan 26, 2005)
Tags
Review
Feedback

This game actually couldn't be any worse! You'd have to have less ZZT skills than a rock to make a "game" of this low of calibur. If I could I'd give it a -2 for a huge waste of downloading time. Never waste time even thinking of playing this game

Rating
0.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Commodore
Date
21 years, 6 months ago (Jan 17, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

This game is drenched in political messages. Just from the opening title can you see the message is already clear, featuring a gun superimposed over an American flag. The design of the school itself is marvelously accurate in an abstract way. It's not that it's a "school". It's a symbol of our school experience. There is little direction given to us as we procede. instead seemingly insignificant choices lead to our successes and failures, and (as the game poigantly illustrates) failure occours more often than success. Then we get to the shooting. the only actual shooting in the game is hardly a challange. You go into a classroom, and kill students, who are all alligned in a row waiting and come at you pretty much one at a time. no skill is required to get to the room, or even kill the students. in fact, if it's only the first time you've played the game then you usually think that you've come to the room accidently. And you're probably just as surprised as the students in the room.

this game is a strong statement in a universal package. The graphics are abstract, and could concievealbly be any school. A remarkable piece of work indeed.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
jimmy_20
Date
21 years, 6 months ago (Jan 14, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

When i first played the game im like . . ok i collected the ammo and im walking around this room. and there is nothing to do. The graphics are . . ARRGGHH Go ahead and download it and you will see what im talking about.

Rating
0.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
maladroit aka davr0s aka whatever
Date
21 years, 6 months ago (Jan 14, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

I don't really know why I am reviewing this game other than to pass 8 minutes of time at the library. otherwise, this looks like something that I would make. That's bad. But what's sadder is the fact that the author must have actually put WORK into this. I mean, this must have been uploaded on the zzt.org or aol archive, because it defies all of the upload rules, has practicly (i cnat splel!1!) no graphics to speak of, and the challenge is entierlly (i stlil cnat splel!113w) hit or miss, consisting of walking down a correct hallway, apart from some pre-fabricated lion enemies. but, considering the fact that I saw somthing on this game on the forums somewhere, ill give it the highest score it will ever recieve. graphics: 0 sound: 0 playability: 10 (...?) fun: 0

Rating
0.50 / 5.00
Submitted By
Spork
Date
21 years, 6 months ago (Jan 12, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Okay, to start off it sucks. Though if it's your first game I'll give you credit. Here is a tip. Read the syndroms page, cliches, and download the games in GOTM page. You can see how to make a good game in there. Good luck on your next game.

I give this game a 0.

Rating
0.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
wayward
Date
21 years, 6 months ago (Jan 05, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

This is far and away the worst serious attempt at a zzt game ever. It's bad...really bad. As a matter of fact, the only reason you should even consider playing this is to see how not to make a ZZT game (wait, isn't there ZZT Syndromes for that?)

If you really want to know, you walk around in this place that the stampede calls a school, and you do gasp NOTHING! absolutely NOTHING!

advice: do not play this game ever. comment: if there was ever a game that deserved to get less than zero, this is it.

Rating
0.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
ZZT01
Date
21 years, 8 months ago (Nov 19, 2002)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Oh my..... What was he THINKING???? This is.. is... I don't know WHAT it is. It's just plain crud. Trash. DON'T download this, even to see what it is. That's what I did, and now I'm sorry. It's a WASTE of SPACE! Oh boy... What has this world come to???

Rating
0.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
My Liver Hurtz
Date
21 years, 10 months ago (Aug 29, 2002)
Tags
Review
Feedback

When I first played this game I really thought it was a joke. However, after closer examination on the Z2 website I discovered the genre was in fact "Adventure", not "Comedy" "Joke" or "What not to do in a ZZT game"

Why do I say this? Hmm... where to begin.

Let's try sound. Sorry, no sound

OK, how about graphics? This program's terrain is 99.9% solids that varry in colour.

Plot, what plot? Seriously, the player doesn't even know why he/she is trying to escape a deserted school. I don't think there's even a dialog box that pops up, ANYWHERE.

Well, I have to give stampede this: he is VERY creative. It only took me editing the game to find out that sureal looking hallway was ACTUALLY a flight of stairs. I found out this by looking at the board title.

How do you win? You have to walk down a certain corridorr and enter a room that says "You win!"

However, there are another 2 corridorrs that if you go in one of them the exact same board comes up except it says "You lose!"

I'm having a hard time comprehending how this thing got into the databse. It's 1/3 the minimum .zip file size, and it uses NO other colours besides the 7 provided.

PROS: Very funny to look at and play. Gives you the satisfaction that no matter how bad your game is, School of ZZT is 10 times worse. The game's only 10 boards, so it's easier to peek through the game and find out what the room are supposed to be. Only having to defeat 10 lions that are all placed in one room reduces the stress on your shift key

CONS: No plot No music *No graphics. (well, that's not true. However text adventures have better graphics then School of ZZT)

Rating
0.00 / 5.00

Give Feedback

Markdown syntax is supported for formatting.
Additionally, you may place text behind a spoiler tag by wrapping it in two pipe characters (ex: ||this is hidden||).

Optionally provide a numeric score from 0.0 to 5.0

If any box is checked, feedback must be tagged with at least one checked tag

Used to prevent automated accounts. Avoid interacting with this field.

Feedback can only be provided on a file once every 24 hours for guests. Please sign in to a Museum of ZZT account if you wish to provide additional feedback.