Card Prime

Author
Company
Released
Genre
Size
31.7 KB
Rating
4.22 / 5.00
(9 Reviews)
Boards
26 / 27
Sort:

Pretty damn good.

By: ripster88
Reviewed: 18 years, 5 months ago (July 11, 2004, midnight)

This game is certainly one of Appliances best yet. Unfortunately it's rather buggy and the graphics sucked hard.

I think if he'd put another day or two into this it would have been alot better.

Although the game is buggy and did have sucky graphics, it is still fun to play but he could've made it better by:

Making it last longer and giving the weaker cards a decent affect to stop people from using the newest ones they get.

Overall, this game deserves a 4/5. Great job, Appliance.


Rating: 4.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by ripster88

A very good game old chap!

By: mr.bob
Reviewed: 18 years, 10 months ago (Jan. 18, 2004, midnight)

After finding VOD I wanted some more of this man's games and quickly found this little game. Card Prime is in every aspect a good game, however its the bugs that get to people. I died one time and it took me out of ZZT! (not good -.1) The graphics are good, not great, but good. The music is very up beat and fun, but it repeats alot. The battels are fun and the gameplay overall is good.

The makings of a good game, I dont mind if its short, short and sweet if you ask me!

NOW MAKE A SEQUEL!


Rating: 4.5 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by mr.bob

Most fun

By: Jinjo54698
Reviewed: 18 years, 10 months ago (Jan. 18, 2004, midnight)

Most ZZT games are the same thing, nothing new. However Card Prime is much a breath of fresh air in this time.

The engine is very unique and fun. -1 The graphics are plain however I doubt he could fit much more in this game anyway. -1 The game play is fun, and the difficulty just makes it more so. -1 Music in this game is kinda bland but its still fine. -1 The story is bland and in every way a story would make this game a hit, however thats the way the card is thrown. Story-1 Overall this game is very new and fun, I hope for more!


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Jinjo54698

A game like no other

By: koolj
Reviewed: 18 years, 11 months ago (Dec. 30, 2003, midnight)

Card Prime makes ZZT go all out. I really did find a story in the game! The story is battel to become the champ! (Thats an ok story right?) What you do in the game is go around and fight people using cards - The cards must be magic. Some enimes require a certain card to defeat them, making the battels new and fun. I did find the game quit buggy, however that did not bother me, (much), and am realy looking forward for the next Card Prime!


Rating: 4.5 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by koolj

Untitled Review

By: Spiff
Reviewed: 18 years, 11 months ago (Dec. 21, 2003, midnight)

...hey....I liked it. It was a cool ZZT game. I like to have a story but, (meh) Who cares?


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Spiff

Close, but not too close.

By: Commodore
Reviewed: 18 years, 11 months ago (Dec. 16, 2003, midnight)

This game is proof that a ZZTer can have a great idea yet because of the ZZTer's limited skillz, can not make the game to it's full potential.

Card Prime is a first in ZZT, a game that revolves around battleing using magical cards ala Magic: TG or other such games. Unfourtunatlely the differance between Magic and Card Prime is that in Magic, reltively weak card still have use. In Card Prime, once you get the amazing super powerful cards, that's all you use. Sort of like the last battle in Chrono Trigger where all you do is use one triple tech over and over, use a mega-elixer, then rinse and repeat.

The concept is good, however the story to go with the concept is weak. It's obvious that it would be hard to give this game much more scope than it has, what with the KB limitations, but a more detailed background story, and perhaps a central character you can feel for, would help.

Another thing that removes enjoyment from the game is the graphics. Better than some games, but not many. Simple terrains, lack of detail, and less than interesting battle sequences. The same engine would have worked just as well with pictures of the fighters like in Wartorn.

Still, this engine is certainly somethign to build on. With an original concept, it's obvious that appliance took a lot of time to make this because it was something he wanted to show he could do. I think it's a idea, but sadly a less than good game. A sequel would be greatly appreciated.


Rating: 3.5 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Commodore

Uh-huh...

By: Homz
Reviewed: 18 years, 11 months ago (Dec. 15, 2003, midnight)

I honestly gave this game a good try, I really did, but somehow, the difficulty overwhelmed me a little bit too much. I couldn't get past the first battle.

The graphics were fair, Appliance's skills are obviously improving. However, in some places, such as the card room, the screens cry out for a little more attention than has been given. .5

Music, I can't really rate as I didn't have the sound on at the time. 1

Story: Non-existent. 0

Gameplay: It was okay, but as previously stated I found it way too hard. .5

Programming: It was functional, but there were a few bugs, such as enemies using cards after all their uses had been expended. .5

If Appliance put a few finishing touches on his games before releasing them, they would deserve at least a 4.


Rating: 2.5 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Homz

Cool

By: Mr Smiles
Reviewed: 18 years, 12 months ago (Dec. 12, 2003, midnight)

This is a really fun game. It's kinda buggy, but the engine seems innovative and new. It's pretty short, but it has a 2-Player mode thing in case your friends play ZZT (not likely). It's an overal good game that only loses points for being a bit to short and buggy.


Rating: 4.5 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Mr Smiles

Nice game.

By: TheonlyPKMNfanleft
Reviewed: 19 years ago (Dec. 3, 2003, midnight)

This game was good. I have 2 good things and 1 bad thing to say about it. Good: Card battling on ZZT. Good: Fun Bad: Too short.


Rating: 4.5 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by TheonlyPKMNfanleft

New Review

Markdown syntax is supported for formatting.

Optionally provide a numeric score from 0.0 to 5.0


By:
Reviewed: Dec 8, 2022


Rating: out of 5.0 This user has opted out of providing a numeric rating