Sort:
Submitted By
sumisusan
Date
20 years, 2 months ago (Jan 28, 2004)
Tags
Review
Feedback

I shall forever love Madtom and this game. I love it as much as Burger Joint. Perfect gameplay with the right amount of humor. Shall be a 5 out of 5 forever.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Zephyr
Date
20 years, 5 months ago (Oct 30, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

I don't know how you people can give this game anything less than a five. You all make me sick. This isn't on the top ten list, yet ASCII SPY is! What is wrong with you people?!

There have been so many reviews on this game, so I'll make mine short.

THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST ZZT GAMES EVER CREATED.

The music, the graphics, the engines, the gameplay; It's all incredible. The theme song is addictive, the graphics fit perfectly, the inventory engine is flawless, and the gameplay is phenomenal.

Madtom's "Burglar!" is one of the best ZZT games out there. If you don't believe me, download it, play it through, and then you'll understand.

...How could anyone give it a four?!

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
The Tee
Date
20 years, 10 months ago (Jun 01, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

It's a really good game, and sometimes it can be well, a little scary. Your heart beat can be racing when your trying to grab as many items before the people notice you. It is pretty good if you have someone to play it with, so you can take turns trying to nab the most stuff (-:

Rating
4.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
jakob_666
Date
20 years, 11 months ago (Apr 24, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

this game is one of the best on all of zzt (only second to burger joint) its has amazing graphics and fun challenging gameplay i still cant beat it its just too hard the only downfall is all the instant deaths! i loathe instant deaths they are my least favorite thing ever invented it makes me sooooo very very angry but overal its fine

Rating
4.50 / 5.00
Submitted By
Odd Boink
Date
21 years, 1 month ago (Feb 21, 2003)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Whoa. When I played the Purple Files II I thought MadTom was another chitee game creator, but this game would really deserve a 9. Why not a 10? Because in Day 2, after the first mission, the door don't opens and if you erase it the item flags aren't cleared. Okay, here goes the grade: 4.5

Rating
4.50 / 5.00
Submitted By
markluny
Date
21 years, 4 months ago (Dec 01, 2002)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Just like the other reviews, it is a very good, actually excellent game. Nice graphics that comfort your eyes without too much bright colors. The pictures are also nice. The plot was both easy and hard enough. Although short, but fun. You mess around with items. Overall, I rate it 6 / 5 or anything as close I can get to it.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Commodore
Date
21 years, 6 months ago (Sep 27, 2002)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Burgular! was the first game is was impressed with in ZZT. I had just come the the community and Burgular was right there on the front page so I downloaded it. This was also the first ZZT game I had ever seen with STK. So Since the first thing that hit me was the graphics, let's talk about those.

From 3/4 perspective streets, to surreal interiors, this game has it all. I've always been partial with mixing surrealism in with normal imagery, and the interior of the company building does just that, two ambigous rooms, and a giant computer. Sitting in what normally would not be a building's shape. Finally the streets where you pick pockets is a wonderful melange of colours that blend in very surreal ways complementing the insanity of the crime you commit. Then we have really well drawn cutscene (granted MadTom is no Chase when it comes to cutscenes) that appear from time to time.

As far as music goes, the opening music kicked ass. Sometimes I could rip it into MP3 format. Sadly not much more music was featured.

The gameplay was brilliant as well. I personally would've cut down on the instant kills but the last infiltration into the police station was marvelous, with the rooms slowly revealing themsleves and the ingenuity needed to figure out some puzzles (How many games make you remember Chemistry class?)

Finally, the story. I loved how you had no regrets throughout the whole game. No internal turmoil shit about the moral implecations of stealing or killing, just fun robbery with a great revenge twist added in.

This game INSPIRED me back into the ZZT world. Of course seeing more than 8 colours helped, but the brunt of it was in the careful execution of the game.

Thanks MadTom, my hats off to you.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
JohnWWells
Date
21 years, 6 months ago (Sep 21, 2002)
Tags
Review
Feedback

If Burglar! gets 4 out of 5 from two reviewers, I can't imagine what it would take to get a 5.

My GOTM review is pretty detailed, so I'll just sum it up here:

Pros: Clever, engaging, fun, consistent.

Cons: A few very minor spots of weak writing.

Rating
5.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
icel
Date
21 years, 6 months ago (Sep 14, 2002)
Tags
Review
Feedback

You play as Luke Steel, con artist extrordanre. You find employment at a "Burgle to Order" firm, and are soon robbing houses and stores alike. The plot thickens as the boss is suspected of embezzling funds, and you take it upon yourself to get to the bottom of it!

This game should win some kind of award. Exellant storyline, inovative gameplay, and a theme song that sets to tone. MadTom did a great job of exploiting zzt to the fullest, and the creative use of the OOP will have you entertained from start to finish. An effort that gets results.

(+): Gameplay, creative ideas, great concept. (-): Objects are sometimes less-then-intuitive, save frequently.

Graphics: 4 Sound: 5 Story: 4 Fun: 5 Replay: 3

Total: 4

Rating
4.00 / 5.00
Submitted By
Dave2
Date
21 years, 7 months ago (Sep 07, 2002)
Tags
Review
Feedback

Burglar. It's not a game, It's a saga. You play Luke Steel, a character who you slowly grow to love. Luke is into the burglary scene, and decides to join a VERY organized crime. What other crime underworld holds pick-pocketing competitions?

As Luke, you rob houses and apartments, and you're certainly not restricted to a single line of action. You choose your three pieces of equipment. You can steal EXTRA objects in order to purchase more "batteries" (which are really torches...).

And after all that, you go on a free style pick-pocket competition. Where you pick pockets from people. And it's so cool. Y'know?

And for a game reminiscent of that Old AKware burglary game, the story lines can't even compare. Burglar! has many characters you actually need to remember, one who's name is "Pique Poquet". You actually want to smash in his face after perhaps having lost the competition.

The difficulty is quite moderate. You need to be wise in which items you choose... Would you pick a gun to invade a totally empty house? Use your head, kid. But in the last few levels, you'll be constantly reloading your save files... The last level is TOUGH!

All in all, Burglar was a great game. It is a game you could play with the pope. It should be a household item. But it was really hard so I give it a four!

Rating
4.00 / 5.00

Give Feedback

Markdown syntax is supported for formatting.
Additionally, you may place text behind a spoiler tag by wrapping it in two pipe characters (ex: ||this is hidden||).

Optionally provide a numeric score from 0.0 to 5.0

If any box is checked, feedback must be tagged with at least one checked tag

Feedback can only be provided on a file once every 24 hours for guests. Please sign in to a Museum of ZZT account if you wish to provide additional feedback.