3D Talk Engine

Author
Mew
Released
Mar 5, 2001
Genre
Engine
Company
Size
9.2 KB
Boards
2 / 5
Rating
2.90 / 5.00
Sort:

A Spontaneous Adventure

By: Ghettoflower
Reviewed: 18 years, 2 months ago (Sept. 15, 2004, midnight)

Here we have a beautiful adventure by a possibly beautiful man of extended wisdom. What triumph and glory. This is not just a game. It's also an experience. And that is not an insult, i'll add as most people who call a game an experience are just insulting the author and his works.

This is the legend in which one bam of a man has built up the courage to bring something, crisp, new, bold, lifechanging, something refreshing to replenish our previously voided hearts.

It in a way reminds me of that young peasantArthur as a young boy pulling that Excalibur out in order to become King and head knight of the Knights of the Round Table with its trials and tribulations, or that one time Graham had the courage to face dosens and dosens of little leprechauns due to the flashy four-leaf clover which became a back stage pass to his future.

In times e can't consider an alternative, but I've adapted the engine in use for my own adventures, but it'll never be as special as that first time, clicking on that board, hittin that p, moving a fraction to the right, and hearing the world's most beautiful and fruitful little noise in my otherwise before empty life.

If I was at the crossroads of my life I would also say "hello (beep - beep)"

-Viovis


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Ghettoflower

A leap forward in ZZT gaming!

By: dave2
Reviewed: 18 years, 4 months ago (July 15, 2004, midnight)

With it's astonishing 14 lines of code, 3D talk engine breaks the fourth wall in ZZT, nay, worldwide gaming history. Put aside for a minute the fact that the board you play on only takes up 2.7KB out of the 49KB within the zip file (28KB of that is a .doc file with a total of six lines, one of which is "Finally! After all these years! I?ve reaserched how to make characters that talk in 3d!" Another 14.5KB of that is toolkits which were not made by Mew).

Nobody ever said that a game needed to exceed 3KB to be a success (although it is a requirement of Z2). Nobody said that a game needed to let you move the player more than one time, either. That's right, you move the player in this game a total of one time, but what an exhilarating one time it is.

Didn't I mention the graphics this game possesses? There's a fine looking chap with a red shirt and blue pants on, and for some reason his arm is made up of objects. Why? To up the filesize, no doubt. To the right of the already excellent main feature is a road drawn with the word "amusment" beside it. I am most certainly amused! It doesn't matter that it makes no sense for a vertical road to be going up into the sky in the middle of a black void. It's obviously amusing enough to stand alone. It also doesn't matter that Mew misspelled "amusement" because this game rocks, and that's all that matters. I'm not going to be a grammer Nazi here, folks.

"Finally! After all these years! I?ve reaserched how to make characters that talk in 3d!" - Mew

On to the main feature of the game. The 3D talking. Don't know what it means to talk in 3D? Play this game to find out. Granted, it's not a perfect example of 3D talking, but for a ZZT emulation of it, it's about as close as one could ever wish to get!

"it was truly the zzt-oop triumph of the decade" - Nitr0 (Aka Stiltzkin)

After moving one time you are allowed, you can then touch an object which makes a white object (the character's mouth) turn into #char 255 twice. The game also makes two beeps, as the word "Hello" spouts from the mouth of the square headed character on the left side of the screen.

This is nothing but pure brilliance. It will forever change the way cinemas are made. I don't know a single ZZTer who hasn't made use of the 3D Talk Engine. As Mew tells us at the end of his 28KB .doc file, "Don?t laugh at it, there will be better versions soon." I don't think ANYBODY is laughing, Mew. All I can hear is applause! 5/5.


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by dave2

hi

By: nuero
Reviewed: 18 years, 4 months ago (July 14, 2004, midnight)

this is the best thing ever a++ would buy from again


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by nuero

Now that's what I'm 3D-talkin' 'bout.

By: Ryan Ferneau
Reviewed: 19 years, 11 months ago (Dec. 14, 2002, midnight)

The whole talking thing might have had some merit if you had:

  1. An animation involving more than one object
  2. More than one word appearing or
  3. Noises that actually fit the syllables

Maybe we oughtta send Mew some "3D Talk Conversations" just so the next version won't look so pathetic.


Rating: 0.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Ryan Ferneau

Hmm,

By: Snika
Reviewed: 19 years, 12 months ago (Nov. 28, 2002, midnight)

Well, this game... it might have gone somewhere if Mew made it a little longer with more words and stuff. Umm, 3-D? But, nice try, Mew! I'll give it a 3 outta 5 for creativity and effort n'stuff like that. G'day! --Snika


Rating: 3.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Snika

You 3D talkin' to me?

By: catfriedrice
Reviewed: 20 years ago (Nov. 25, 2002, midnight)

Well, it says hello, that is all Great Graphics, terrible waste of time and space. CFRVRFZZTG: [J] because just abuot anyone could play this without worrying about blood and language.


Rating: 1.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by catfriedrice

Hey, crap on this!

By: triphEd
Reviewed: 20 years, 2 months ago (Aug. 30, 2002, midnight)

So, mew, you made a 3D TLAKING ENGNIE LOL. don't you think that was just a little bit of a waste of time? And where does the 3D part come in? I must admit that, when i downloaded it, i was expecting a totally cool animation of some bloke moving his mouth. But no, AN ANIMATED OBJECT. I'm sure that people would just figure out to do something like that anyway, if they wanted a t4lki|\|g m4|\|. my random art ('meh') was even better than this!


Rating: 0.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by triphEd

Untitled Review

By: King Graham
Reviewed: 20 years, 3 months ago (Aug. 29, 2002, midnight)

Why, I have never been so dazzled, so amazed, so stupefied by one experience as I was with the 3D talk engine. Now, I tell you I've had my share of amazing experiences. My run-in with Mordac's magic was pretty spectacular, and so was that owl that talked.

But... this, this is a work of art.

The first thing I did when I recieved this game in the mail was don the three dimensional spectacles included with it. Although they make the real world all blue and red, they help make the game amazing!

Then, I ran the game, pressed 'P', and was treated to the most breathtaking spectacle of sheer beauty on this earth. The colors, the sounds, the experience!!

This may very well be the next generation of ZZT technology. I commend the author.


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by King Graham

Watchoo 3D talkin' 'bout, Willis?

By: Funk
Reviewed: 20 years, 3 months ago (Aug. 29, 2002, midnight)

A moving tribute not only to those that died in the September 11th attacks, but also to their families and the civil servants who tried to hard to repair the damage, this will bring a tear to even the most hardened cynic's ey-- no, sorry, that's Attack of the Clones. 3D Talk? Bag of wank.


Rating: 0.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by Funk

See what everybody's 3D Talkin' `Bout!

By: double berry
Reviewed: 20 years, 3 months ago (Aug. 29, 2002, midnight)

There is a button! Upon touching said button, an onscreen man's mouth moves slightly, the word HELLO is displayed on screen, and two high-pitched beeps are heard! Genius? Of COURSE.


Rating: 5.0 out of 5.0
Other reviews written by double berry

New Review

Markdown syntax is supported for formatting.

Optionally provide a numeric score from 0.0 to 5.0


By:
Reviewed: Nov 27, 2022


Rating: out of 5.0 This user has opted out of providing a numeric rating